Joint governance update


CAAT’s joint governance structure is one of the key factors in keeping your pension secure. The individuals appointed to the Board of Trustees and the Sponsors’ Committee bring diverse skills and expertise to represent the interests of members and employers, and to oversee the Plan.

Changes to the Board of Trustees:

Dr. Scott Blakey assumed the role of Chair, and Don Smith assumed the role of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees, following the end of Don Smith’s term as Board Chair, and in accordance with the Sponsorship and Trust Agreement.

Changes to the Sponsors’ Committee:

In September, the Sponsors’ Committee welcomed Shawn Pentecost as the newest OPSEU-appointed representative. Mr. Pentecost is a professor of social sciences and communications at Algonquin College’s Pembroke Campus and serves on the executive of OPSEU Local 415.

Mr. Pentecost replaced Patrick Kennedy following Mr. Kennedy’s retirement and departure from the Committee, effective June 30. We extend our gratitude to Mr. Kennedy for his years of commitment to the Plan, and wish him all the best in his retirement.

Veneise Samuels was appointed Co-Chair of the Sponsors’ Committee for the balance of Patrick Kennedy’s term (until February 28, 2022).

See the full list of members of the Board of Trustees and the Sponsors’ Committee, and their bios